BJP elects Satpal Satti state president

The BJP on Wednesday re-elected Satpal Satti as state president of the party for a record consecutive third term. Satti will lead the party in the 2017 state assembly elections.
A third-time MLA, Satti had the backing of top party leadership - former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, Union minister for Health J P Nadda, party veteran Shanta Kumar and organising secretary Pawan Rana.
"Currently, we are in the middle of panchayat, block samiti and zila parishad polls wherein we have done tremendously well maintaining the trend set during the
Lok Sabha polls (winning all four seats and also an assembly by-poll). Next, we will be participating in the urban local bodies polls on January 10," Satti said immediately after his election.